Review: The Tea Dragon Society

Title: The Tea Dragon Society

img_7601

Author: Katie O’Neill

Illustrator: Katie O’Neill

Date Read: 7/9/2020

Pages: 72

Publication Date: October 31st, 2017

Publisher: Oni Press

Format: e-book, borrowed from Hoopla

Rating: 2 stars – ⭐️⭐️

Synopsis (taken from GoodReads): From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever Aftercomes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in the enchanting world of tea dragons.

After discovering a lost tea dragon in the marketplace, Greta learns about the dying art form of tea dragon care-taking from the kind tea shop owners, Hesekiel and Erik. As she befriends them and their shy ward, Minette, Greta sees how the craft enriches their lives—and eventually her own.

What I Liked About this Book: 

Art Style: The art style and use of color was just absolutely gorgeous. I was floored by the cute, adorable style that O’Neill uses in her drawings.

Concept: I absolutely loved the idea of this graphic novel being both made for younger and older audiences. The idea that a graphic novel can be suited for all ages and not just adults or not just children really intrigued me.

What I Disliked About this Book:

Plot: Or should I say, lack there of. I had read several rave reviews of this graphic novel and it has been on my radar for awhile. While I understand that it is a graphic novel and the art is a main part of it, it should not be the main focus of a graphic novel the entire time. I felt as though there was not much plot within this graphic novel, nor was there a lot of explanation as to some of the events that occurred. For example, there was a flash back sequence that was thrown in the middle. The main focus of it seemed to be the origin story of a romance that was a part of the graphic novel, however the flashback itself didn’t really hold much weight in explaining the romance at all. To me, this story truly held no weight.

Overall, I truly went into this story with high expectations. It had been on my TBR for a while and I knew that many people enjoyed it, so I picked it up as soon I found it on hoopla. However, it just didn’t mesh well with me unfortunately.

Leave a comment